The election timetable is below and is also available as a PDF file.

Date Time  
Friday 14 July Gazettal of date by Minister
  Nominations open
Tuesday 25 July 5:00 pm Close of electoral roll
Thursday 3 August 12:00 noon Close of nominations
Friday 4 August 12:00 noon Declaration of nominations, draw for position on ballot papers
Monday 7 August Postal vote mail-out commences
Monday 14 August 8:00 am Early voting commences
9:00 am Mobile voting commences
Tuesday 22 August 6:00 pm Overseas postal voting despatches cease
Thursday 24 August 6:00 pm All postal voting despatches cease
Friday 25 August 6:00 pm Early voting ceases
Saturday 26 August Election day
8:00 am Election day voting commences
6:00 pm Election day voting ceases
  Mobile voting ceases
  Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence
  Primary counts of postal, mobile and early votes commence
Monday 28 August 9:00 am Declaration vote verification checks, commence recheck of all counts
Thursday 31 August 9:00 am Primary counts of accepted declaration votes, further postal counts
Friday 1 September 12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes
  Final counts of postal votes commence
  Distribution of preferences
Monday 4 September 10:00 am Declaration of the election result