Federal elections and by-elections are held in accordance with the Commonwealth Electoral Act to elect Members and Senators to the federal parliament in Canberra and are managed in the Territory by the Australian Electoral Commission. 

Federal elections take place at times determined by the federal government of the day and are not linked in any way to elections for the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly. The procedures used at federal elections, including the method of voting for the House of Representatives, the location of voting centres and materials, can be similar or the same as that used at Northern Territory elections.  

For further information on Federal elections go to the Australian Electoral Commission website.