The Northern Territory is governed by one (unicameral) House of Parliament, the Legislative Assembly.

Elections for the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly are held every 4 years and are conducted by the Northern Territory Electoral Commission (NTEC). 



Voting in the NT

Voting is compulsory in the Northern Territory (NT) at all levels of government.  When, where and how to vote are advertised widely during each election period.  Mobile voting teams provide access to voting services for people who would otherwise be unable to attend a voting centre because of hospitalisation, being in prison or an aged care facility or living in a remote community.

Photographs of candidates are included on NT ballot papers, making it easier for many voters to choose their preferred candidates.  This is a unique feature within the Australian electoral system, and does not apply in federal elections.

Vote marking and counting

Electoral boundaries

The Northern Territory is divided into 25 divisions for Legislative Assembly elections. An electoral redistribution is conducted prior to each NTLA election by a process overseen by two independent committees.


A vacancy may occur due to the resignation or death of a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA).

If the number of candidates standing for an election is the same as the number of vacancies, the election is declared uncontested, no voting is required and the candidates are elected unopposed.