Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Division of Arafura
View full size map


A ‘Top End’ division comprising the Tiwi Islands, West Arnhem and includes the communities of Gunbalanya, Maningrida, Milikapiti, Minjilang, Nguiu, Pirlangimpi and Warruwi.


The division was created following the 1983 redistribution and named after the Arafura Sea. Arafura refers to the mountain people of the Moluccan Islands.  The Dutch named the sea in 1827. The 2015 redistribution saw Jabiru and kakadu move from Arafura to the Arnhem division.


Affiliation Period
L Costa ALP 2016 - Present
F M Xavier​ CLP​ 2012 - 2016
M R Scrymgour ALP 2001 - 2012
M J Rioli ALP 1992 - 2001
S G Tipiloura​ ALP​ 1987 - 1992
R Collins ​ ALP​ 1983 - 1987​