Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Division of Katherine
View full size map


This division includes all of the municipality of Katherine, 300km south of Darwin.


The division was created following the 1986 redistribution and named after the Katherine River. John McDouall Stuart named the river in 1862, after Katherine Chambers, the second daughter of a South Australian pastoralist, James Chambers, who supported his expedition.

Affiliation Period
S Nelson ALP 2016 - Present
W R Westra Van Holthe CLP 2008 - 2016
C F Miller CLP 2003 - 2008
M A Reed CLP 1987 - 2003