Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Division of Nhulunbuy
View full size map


On the Gove Peninsula, this division includes the town of Nhulunbuy and the communities of Galiwin'ku, Milingimbi, Ramingining, Yirrkala and their outstations.


The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. It was named after the town of Nhulunbuy on which the division is based. Nhulunbuy derived its name from the Yirrkala people’s name for Mt. Saunders, which is adjacent to the town. The 2015 redistribution saw Nhulunbuy gain Milingimbi and Ramingining from the division of Arnhem.

Affiliation Period
Y M Guyula IND 2016 - Present
L M Walker ALP 2008 - 2016
S J Stirling ALP 1990 - 2008
D M Leo ALP 1980 - 1990
​M Ballantyne ​CLP ​1974 - 1980