Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Division of Nightcliff
View full size map


This division is situated in the nothern part of Darwin and includes the suburbs of Nightcliff, Rapid Creek and part of Coconut Grove.


The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. It was named after the suburb of Nightcliff on which the division is based. Nightcliff derives its name from ‘Night Cliff’ which appears in that form on Goyder’s original plan for Port Darwin in 1869.

Affiliation Period
N Fyles​ ALP​ 2012 - Present​
J L Aagaard ALP 2001 - 2012
S P Hatton CLP 1983 - 2001
D Lawrie IND 1974 - 1983