Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Division of Stuart
View full size map


This division occupies the western half of the Northern Territory. It extends from the Victoria River region, Pine Creek and the area around Katherine in the north to the Tanami Desert in the south. The division includes the communities of Areyonga, Daguragu, Haasts Bluff, Hermannsburg, Kalkarindji, Kintore, Lajamanu, Laramba, Mount Liebig, Nyirripi, Papunya, Ti Tree, Timber Creek, Wallace Rockhole, Willowra, Yarralin, Yuelamu and Yuendumu.


The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. It was named after John McDouall Stuart, the explorer, who passed through the area in 1861 and 1862 on his journeys to find a route from South Australia to the north coast of Australia. The 2015 redistribution saw Stuart gain Areyonga, Haasts Bluff, Hermannsburg, Kintore, Mount Liebig, Papunya, Wallace Rockhole and surrounding communities from the division of Namatjira. Barunga, Beswick, Mataranka, moved to the division of Arnhem. Douglas-Daly, Kybrook Farm and Pine Creek moved to the division of Daly.

Affiliation Period
S McConnell ALP 2016 - Present
B Price​ ​CLP ​2012 - 2016
K R Hampton ALP 2006 - 2012
P H Toyne ALP 1996 - 2006
B R Ede ALP 1983 - 1996
​R Vale ​CLP ​1974 - 1983