The NT covers approximately 1 620 000 square kilometres in total. The Territory has 25 Legislative Assembly divisions, each represented by one elected Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA).

Electorates are separate geographic areas of the Territory that successful candidates in an election are elected to represent. The term ‘electorate’ can also refer to the electors in that area. In Northern Territory Legislative Assembly(NTLA) elections, electorates are generally called divisions and may also be known as seats or constituencies. Local government councils can consist of one or more electoral area (these may be called ‘wards’), represented by a number of elected members.

For division maps and information relating to geographic location, history, statistics and current and previous members of each NTLA division, go to Division Profiles. Division maps are also available for public inspection at the Northern Territory Electoral Commission office in Darwin and the MyVote Central office in Alice Springs.

You can also use the Find My Electoral Area search function on this website to view Federal, Territory and Council electoral boundaries in the Northern Territory. The boundaries shown for the NT Legislative Assembly Divisions came into affect at the August 2012 LA general elections.  More information relating to those NTLA boundaries can be found in Redistribution reports.

Parliamentary redistributions

The electorates are very different in geographical size and can range from as little as 4 square kilometres to almost 450 000 square kilometres. However, each division has approximately the same number of electors, around 5000. Electoral boundaries are drawn following main roads, waterways and prominent geographical land features.

Redistributions are conducted before each NTLA general election, following strict guidelines and wide public consultation. The boundaries of each division or electorate are reviewed and changed, if necessary, so that the numbers of electors in each area are as equal as possible. Any changes become effective at the next Legislative Assembly general elections.

Council elector representation reviews

Each council must review its structure and elected membership once in every four-year term. Any changes to structure and membership become effective at the next council general elections.

The number of electors in the councils and wards differs depending on whether they are urban or regional/shire councils.

For more information about councils, go to the Department of Local Government and Community Services website.