Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
MEDIA RELEASE: Territorians can vote now
NT Electoral Commission > Media > Latest News > Posts > MEDIA RELEASE: Territorians can vote now

 Content Editor ‭[2]‬


 Content Editor ‭[1]‬

August 18
MEDIA RELEASE: Territorians can vote now

​EARLY voting for the 2017 NT Council elections is proving a popular and convenient option for Territorians. Over 11,000 people or 10.5 per cent of eligible electors, have voted so far in the first week of polling at early voting centres in Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Coolalinga, Casuarina and at two locations in Darwin city.

“It’s great to see so many Territorians taking advantage of the convenience of early voting,” NT Electoral Commissioner Iain Loganathan said.

“Territorians can vote early this Saturday 19 August between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, and all next week with voting centres staying open until 6:00 pm on Friday 25 August.

“Around 6,300 votes have been taken so far at early voting centres, over 1,200 votes taken by remote mobile teams and more than 3,500 postal votes have been sent out.

“Voting early means being able to vote at any voting centre whether or not you’re in your council area; that’s very convenient if travelling around the NT or if you know you’ll be away on election day.

“However on election day, Territorians can only vote in their own council area,” Mr Loganathan said.

To ensure your vote is counted, you must number every box on their ballot paper in order of choice starting with one.

Voting centre locations and times are available at or

Early voting is a growing trend in Australia with 38 per cent of Territorians voting early in the 2016 Territory election

PDF square.jpgMedia release