Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
MEDIA RELEASE: Voting ends and counting begins
NT Electoral Commission > Media > Latest News > Posts > MEDIA RELEASE: Voting ends and counting begins

 Content Editor ‭[2]‬


 Content Editor ‭[1]‬

August 26
MEDIA RELEASE: Voting ends and counting begins

​VOTING in the 2017 NT Council elections concludes at 6:00 pm on Saturday 26 August. As voting centre doors close, the count begins of primary votes for council Mayors and Presidents, followed by counts for Aldermen and Councillors.

“As the primary counts are finalised, the numbers are posted on the NTEC’s virtual tally room,” NT Electoral Commissioner Iain Loganathan said.

“Following this, all the votes are transferred to the NTEC offices in Darwin and Alice Springs to be rechecked; a process that begins on Monday 28 August.

“The voting system used for council elections is proportional representation, and the count is conducted using computerised vote counting software.

“The quota required to be elected for each count can only be determined after the close of deadline for postal votes at 12noon on Friday 1 September.

“The election will then be declared at 10:00 am on Monday 4 September for relevant council areas in Darwin, Litchfield, Katherine and Alice Springs. This event is open to the public,” Mr Loganathan said.

At the declaration, the candidates or their representatives have the opportunity to speak briefly once the formal announcements have concluded.

For further information about proportional representation vote system go to Vote counting on the NTEC website.

The virtual tally room is on the NTEC website at


PDF square.jpgMedia release