Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Councils pursue non-voters from 2017 NT Council elections
NT Electoral Commission > Media > Latest News > Posts > Councils pursue non-voters from 2017 NT Council elections

 Content Editor ‭[2]‬


 Content Editor ‭[1]‬

December 08
Councils pursue non-voters from 2017 NT Council elections


The City of Darwin and Litchfield Council have determined to pursue electors who did not vote in the 2017 NT Council elections held on Saturday 26 August. The primary decision to pursue non-voters is to raise council awareness and encourage more voters to participate in the democratic process.

A total of 14,069 electors enrolled in the City of Darwin and 3,603 in the Litchfield Council area who did not vote, will receive an infringement notice in the mail over the coming weeks.

"Electors will have the opportunity to provide a valid and sufficient reason for not voting when they receive the letter," NT Electoral Commissioner Iain Loganathan said.

"If a person does not provide a reason as to why they did not vote they can pay the expiation fee of $50.00. If the fee is not paid, the matter may be referred to court with a maximum penalty of $154.00 plus court costs. Payment options are available at

"It is compulsory to vote in NT Council elections. The Northern Territory has a disappointing voter participation rate compared to the rest of Australia and it’s important that Territorians take part in the democratic process." he said.

Anyone who receives an infringement notice has until 24 January 2018 to either pay the fine or contact the NTEC with a reason as to why they didn’t vote. More information can be found at


Small PDF icon.pngMedia release